You are here

Haflidi Hallgrimssón Daydreams in Numbers - Tristia - Strönd Verse I - Jacobs Ladder

Price: £12.00

Virginia Black: Harpsichord     Philippa Davies: Flute
Haflidi Hallgrímsson: Cello/Conductor
Pétur Jónasson: Guitar   Scottish Chamber Orchestra

The cellist and composer, Haflidi Hallgrímsson, was born in Akureyri, Iceland in 1941. After graduating from the Music School in Reykjavík in 1962, he continued his studies in Rome and at the Royal Academy of Music in London, where he was awarded a Recital Medal and the Suggia Prize. On leaving the Academy, he studied composition with Alan Bush and Peter Maxwell Davies. His compositions have been widely performed and have won several prizes, including the 1975 Viotti prize (for VERSE I) and the Wieniawski Prize in 1985 (for POEMI - which also won the prestigious Nordic Council Prize in 1986).

Daydreams in Numbers  
1  Unisono  
2  Expanding Horizon  
3  Unisono Furioso  
4  Lullaby at Glacier  
5  A Winged Horse Rising From The Sea  
6  Antiphon/Resonance  
7  Northern River  
8  Transparent Spring  
9  Sleepy Mountains  
10  Sea Waves  
11  Filled With Space and Time  
12  A Star Will Never Kill  
13  Flight Across The Silence  
14  Strönd  
15  Verse I  
Jacobs Ladder  
16  Prologue  
17  Stones  
18  Sleep  
19  Dream  
20  Angels and Epilogue